Official Community Plan targeted review

We're reviewing our Official Community Plan (OCP) to ensure it continues to support our vision and goals in four areas: transportation, housing, the climate emergency, and economy and employment lands.

We've talked to residents and other stakeholders to understand concerns and priorities, developed a series of white papers that outline key issues, challenges, and potential solutions, looked at social equity considerations, and developed and collected public feedback on potential actions being considered.

We have now prepared the Targeted OCP Review Action Plan (2021-2030). The Action Plan is intended to move the District towards realizing the 2011 OCP vision and goals in the four topic areas, and includes eight priority actions, 21 supporting actions, and two implementing lenses (social equity and climate change).

News and updates

Upcoming

July 26, 2021 — Action Plan considered by Council 

The Action Plan introduced at a previous workshop will be presented to Council for their consideration on July 26 at 7pm. Due to the situation with COVID-19, the Council meeting will be held online. View the materials that will be presented to Council in the 'Documents and related content' tab.

Watch the meeting on Zoom

Previously

July 12, 2021 — Action Plan presented to Council

We prepared an Action Plan to help guide us as we continue implementing the OCP through 2030. The Action Plan and a summary of 2021 community engagement were presented to Council on July 12. View the materials that were presented to Council  in the 'Documents and related content' tab.

April 26 to May 16, 2021 — Online survey

We asked for your thoughts on a broad set of actions within the four topic areas we are reviewing — transportation, housing, the climate emergency, economy and employment lands — which will guide how we continue to implement the OCP through 2030.

May 4, 5, 6, and 10, 2021 — Virtual open house

We held a series of virtual open houses, to share more information about the review process and set of actions we're developing, answer questions from residents, and get their input. View the presentation from the workshop in the 'documents and related content' tab.

February 23, 2021 — Action planning workshop

Staff conducted an action planning workshop with Council, to review, refine, and prioritize a series of potential actions to inform a draft action plan. View the Council materials for this workshop in the 'documents and related content' tab.

February 16, 2021 — Action planning workshop

Staff updated Council on the targeted OCP review, and provided information regarding upcoming action planning workshops. View the staff report other materials in the 'documents and related content' tab.

February 9, 2021 — Council workshop

Staff updated Council on their work to apply a social equity lens to the targeted review's key topic areas. Staff also provided results from a workshop held with social service providers and their clients in December 2020. View the staff report, social equity lens paper, and other materials in the 'documents and related content' tab.

February 1, 2021 — Council workshop

Staff updated Council on how COVID-19 has affected the four key topic areas, and also provided results from additional engagement with the business community. View the staff report and other materials prepared for Council in the 'documents and related content' tab.

October 19, 2020 — Report to Council

Staff provided Council with an update on the status of the targeted Official Community Plan (OCP) review in light of the disruptions caused by the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. The staff report included a revised process and engagement schedule for Council's consideration. View the report in the 'Documents and related content' tab.

March 9, 2020 — White papers presented to Council

Staff presented the Official Community Plan white papers to Council for discussion. View the report to Council in the 'documents and related content' tab.

March 4, 2020 — White papers available for download

We’ve developed a series of white papers to provide important background information on the four key areas of the Community Plan review. Each white paper also includes a list of potential actions we could take to address key issues, with recommendations on ways to achieve goals and policies. 

View the white papers and summaries in the 'documents and related content tab'.

February 5 to 14, 2020 — Stakeholder workshops

We held four workshops with stakeholders to discuss and get input on the four areas of focus for the review. View the presentations from those workshops, along with a summary of the public feedback we gathered, in the 'Documents and related content' tab.

November 25, 2019 — Update and Council input

Staff presented the public engagement results and received Council endorsement for the white paper outlines. View the staff report to Council in the 'documents and related content' tab.

August - October, 2019 — Public engagement

We asked for your input about housing, transportation, climate emergency, and economy and employment lands. We conducted a phone survey with District residents and collected ideas and opinions through informal interviews in a number of key locations throughout the community.

View the phone survey and interview results in the 'documents and related content' tab.

May 27, 2019 — Council consideration

Council approved the Official Community Plan Review - Scope, Timeline, and Budget. View the staff report to Council in the 'documents and related content' tab. 

May 13, 2019 — Council consideration

Staff presented the Official Community Plan Review - Scope, Timeline, and Budget for discussion at a Council workshop. View the staff report to Council in the 'documents and related content' tab.

Details

What is an OCP?

Our Official Community Plan (OCP) supports our long-term vision and path to 2030 by guiding planning and decision making about the future of our community, while working together with strategic action and implementation plans.

What is a targeted OCP review?

On May 29, 2019, Council endorsed a targeted review of the OCP of four topic areas: transportation, housing, climate emergency, and economy and employment lands.

This targeted review will result in an action plan: a list of concrete actions in support of the 2011 OCP vision and goals within the context of today’s emerging issues, challenges, and current trends as they relate to the four key topic areas.​

Areas of focus

The targeted review of the plan focuses on these four key topics and the ways they are connected:

  • Housing
  • Transportation
  • Climate emergency
  • Economy and employment

We want to make sure the work we are doing in these areas is supporting your needs.

Project scope

At key times throughout the OCP review process, you'll have the opportunity to share your opinions and ideas on these focus areas.

Your feedback will provide input into the white papers, action items, and proposed policy changes.

Phase 1 — Fall 2019

Public engagement

Public input from a telephone survey and intercept surveys helped provide a good understanding of our community's concerns and priorities at the start of the project.

White papers 

The white papers give an overview of key issues, challenges, and potential solutions and ways to achieve key goals and policies. A white paper has been completed for each of the key focus areas.

Phase 2 — Spring 2020-2021

Stakeholder engagement 

We held stakeholder workshops on the four key topic areas in February and March 2020, a workshop with local social service providers in December 2021, and a survey for local businesses in December 2021. Stakeholders identified top options to address the most pressing issues in each of the four topic areas.

COVID-19 supplement papers and social equity paper

Due to the arrival of the COVID-19 pandemic in our community in March 2021, the project was temporarily suspended, along with some other municipal business. To look at how the pandemic is affecting the four topic areas, we completed a COVID-19 supplement paper for each topic area to go along with the original white papers.

We also looked at social equity and key considerations for equity priority groups in the social equity lens paper.

District-wide public engagement

Public engagement is planned for spring 2021 to invite community input on draft actions and ideas for the action plan. A summary of the public input will be reported to Council.

Phase 3 — Summer-Fall 2021

Action plan

​An action plan will be developed with information we've learned from community input and research and analysis on the four topic areas throughout the project. The action plan will be presented to Council for their consideration. 

The action plan will guide the work we do related to housing, transportation, climate emergency, and economy and employment lands and continue to set the direction for future growth and change.

Background

About the OCP

The OCP was developed through a two-year community engagement initiative called Identity DNV 2030.

During this initiative, we held open houses, public and stakeholder workshops, coffee shop talks, town hall meetings, and telephone, online, and event surveys where residents shared their ideas and vision for the future of our community.

Adopted in 2011, our OCP is intended to be adapted and amended to respond to evolving conditions and community needs.

Learn more about the OCP

Documents and related content

Council meeting materials

Date Meeting Documents
July 26, 2021 Council meeting
July 12, 2021 Council workshop Agenda and reports
Feb 23, 2021 Action planning workshop Agenda and reports
Feb 16, 2021 Action planning workshop
Feb 9, 2021 Council workshop
Feb 1, 2021 Council workshop
Oct 19, 2020 Staff update at Council Staff report to Council
March, 2020 Council meeting Staff report to Council
Nov 25, 2019 Council meeting Staff report to Council
May 27, 2019 Council meeting Staff report to Council
May 13, 2019 Council meeting Staff report to Council

Public input

Date Activity Documents
May, 2021 Virtual open houses
April-May, 2021 Online survey Final report
Feb-Mar, 2020 Stakeholder workshops
Oct 8-28, 2019 Phone survey Survey results
Aug 20-21, 2019 Intercept survey Survey results

Supporting documents

Official Community Plan white papers

Related policies

Details of the Official Community Plan

Related projects and guidelines

Was this page helpful?

Thanks for your input.