2017 Civic Youth Awards announced

The Civic Youth Awards Program recognizes District youth between the ages of 10 and 24 years and supporters of youth, for their noteworthy achievements and contributions they make in our community.

Learn more about the Civic Youth Awards

Here are the winners for 2017.

Category: Youth Recognition Award

This award recognizes youth who made noteworthy achievements, or exhibited commitment to personal change and growth, including:

  • making great personal strides
  • overcoming personal or societal barriers
  • demonstrating or possessing outstanding music, scholastic, art, or sports acumen

2017 award recipients

Student School
David Hodgson    Argyle Secondary School
Kevin Johnson     Argyle Secondary School
Danielle Rowlands Argyle Secondary School
Seth Glasner Handsworth Secondary School
Antonio McLauchlan Handsworth Secondary School
Shirin Pedram Handsworth Secondary School
Litonya Baker Mountainside Secondary
Jaden Grigg Mountainside Secondary
Logan Grata Upper Lynn Valley Elementary School
Conrad George Sherwood Park Elementary School
Linnea Goh  Windsor Secondary
Micaela Mulleder Windsor Secondary
Harry Slim Windsor Secondary
Kade Steffen  Windsor Secondary

Category: Youth Community Enhancement Award

This award recognizes youth who made positive contributions to the community on a voluntary basis, such as serving on a committee, or other volunteer work with organizations and groups. All nominees must have provided a minimum of 75 hours of school or community services work.

2017 award recipients

Student School
Adida Duggan Argyle Secondary School
Sarah Markey Argyle Secondary School
Katie Rink Argyle Secondary School
Anika Louise Seva Carson Graham Secondary School
Nikolai Andrei Seva Carson Graham Secondary School
Emily Lanctot Lynn Valley Elementary School
Elysia Dalgarno Mountainside Secondary School
Hailey Nicol Mountainside Secondary School
Jasmine Giles Seycove Secondary School
Olivia Couldwell-Warrington Windsor Secondary School
Emily Gardner-Everton  Windsor Secondary School
Sabrina Perera  Windsor Secondary School
Isabelle Vaux   Windsor Secondary School
Nic McCullough  
Adam Ritchey   

Category: Outstanding Youth Friendly Business/Supporter of Youth Award

This award recognizes a business or individual that performed an exceptional job in hiring or training youth, providing opportunities to youth, providing funding for youth activities, or provided support and services to youth (support could be for one youth or a number of youth).

2017 award recipients

  • Dale Cheyne, Youth Services Supervisor, Parkgate Community Services
  • Frances Roberts, Teacher, Argyle Secondary School
  • Artists for Kids Trust
  • North Shore Restorative Justice Societyk

Category: Outstanding Youth Team Award

This award recognizes a group of youth who have completed a minimum of 50 hours per person of community (or school) service, resulting in enhanced programs or services for their school or community.

2017 award recipients

Outstanding group: YOUTH LAB

  • Emily Dorling
  • Virginia Fawkes
  • Carter Findlay
  • Mac Hardman
  • Jennifer Kim
  • Meg Lazarowich
  • Jennifer Tang