Design Exellence and Heritage Award winners announced

This year's winners for both the 2015 Heritage Awards and the 2015 Design Excellence Awards were presented at a special ceremony during the February 22 Council meeting.

2015 Heritage Awards

Chosen by the District’s Community Heritage Committee, the Heritage Awards honour special projects and accomplishments in the field of preservation and protection of heritage buildings.

There were four Heritage Award recipients this year for heritage advocacy:

  1. Donna Sacuta — Blair Rifle Range Historical Research
  2. North Shore Museum and Archives — Exhibit: Walter Draycott and the Great War
  3. Dave Obee — Book: "Fifty! With a Fabulous Future: A History of the District of North Vancouver Public Library"
  4. Squamish Nation Education, Squamish Language Elders, and Dr. Peter Jacobs — Squamish-English Dictionary

Learn more about our Heritage Awards

Learn more about the Community Heritage Advisory Committee 

2015 Design Excellence Awards

Selected by the District’s Advisory Design Panel, this award recognizes projects that significantly contribute to the built environment (e.g. buildings, streets, open spaces, and infrastructure) of our community.

The Award of Excellence

Edgemont Commons: a mixed-use retail and office project at 3053 Edgemont Boulevard

Presented to:

  • Kevington Building Corporation (Developer) — Joe Khalifa
  • GBL Architects Ltd. — Tom Bell, Joey Stevens, Sergio Rojas, Diran Hirozian
  • Jonathan Losee Landscape Architect Ltd. — Jonathan Losee
  • Kevington Building Corporation (Contractor) — Nib Set
  • Artist — Casto Solano 

Honourable Mention

Beacon: a multi-family residential project at 1550 Fern Street, the first phase of the Seylynn Village community.

Presented to:

  • Denna Homes Corp — Dr. Abo Taheri, Dr. Shahpour Hosseini, Pedram Hosseini, Sassan Nikseresht, Farbod Taheri, Tammy Vogan
  • DA Architects + Planners — Mark Ehman, Al Johnson, James Kao
  • ETA Landscape Architecture — Gerry Eckford, Doron Fishman
  • CREUS Engineering Ltd. — Fred Ciambrelli, P.Eng.
  • ITC Construction Group — Doug MacFarlane, Jake How, Paul Sum, Duncan Beattie, Jay Bates
  • BMO Bank of Montreal — Jay Walter, Greg Vriend
  • Pacesetter Marketing — Nick Askew

Learn more about our Design Excellence Awards

Learn more about the Advisory Design Panel