Advisory Design Panel Awards

The Advisory Design Panel annually presents awards to encourage excellence in design and to recognize projects that significantly contribute to the built environment of the District of North Vancouver.

Learn about the work of the Advisory Design Panel

2017 award recipients

Award of Excellence: Delbrook Community Recreation Centre

A hub for health and wellness, recreation, arts and culture, and community, located at 851 W. Queens Road.

  • Developer — District of North Vancouver
  • Architect — HDR CEI Architecture
  • Landscape architect — Connect Landscape Architecture

Honourable Mention: "Walter's Place"

A five-storey residential development at 1325 Draycott Road.

  • Developer — Milori Homes
  • Architect — GBL Architects
  • Landscape architect — Senga Landscape Architects

View recipients from previous years (2010-2016)

2016 award recipients

Award of Excellence: Northwoods Village

A mixed-use development at 2151 Front Street and 2150 Dollarton Highway.

  • Developer — GWL Realty Advisors
  • Architect — Rositch Hemphill Architects
  • Landscape — Connect Landscape Architecture
  • Contractor — Ventana Construction Corp.

Award of Excellence: Connect at Nature's Edge

A townhome development at 757 Orwell Street.

  • Developer — Brody Development Ltd.
  • Architect — Integra Architecture Inc.
  • Landscape Architect — Forma Design Inc. 

Award of Excellence: Amadon Plaza

A commercial development at 1226 Marine Drive.

  • Developer — First Capital Realty Inc.
  • Architect — B+H Architects Inc.     
  • Landscape — Forma Design Inc.
  • Contractor — Lark Projects Ltd. 

Renderings and photos of the 2016 award-winning projects


2015 award recipients

Award of Excellence

Given in recognition of Edgemont Commons: a mixed-use retail and office project at 3053 Edgemont Boulevard, to:

  • Kevington Building Corporation (Developer) — Joe Khalifa
  • GBL Architects Ltd. — Tom Bell, Joey Stevens, Sergio Rojas, Diran Hirozian
  • Jonathan Losee Landscape Architect Ltd. — Jonathan Losee
  • Kevington Building Corporation (Contractor) — Nib Set
  • Artist — Casto Solano 

Honourable Mention

Given recognition of Beacon: a multi-family residential project at 1550 Fern Street, the first phase of the Seylynn Village community, to:

  • Denna Homes Corp — Dr. Abo Taheri, Dr. Shahpour Hosseini, Pedram Hosseini, Sassan Nikseresht, Farbod Taheri, Tammy Vogan
  • DA Architects + Planners — Mark Ehman, Al Johnson, James Kao
  • ETA Landscape Architecture — Gerry Eckford, Doron Fishman
  • CREUS Engineering Ltd. — Fred Ciambrelli, P.Eng.
  • ITC Construction Group — Doug MacFarlane, Jake How, Paul Sum, Duncan Beattie, Jay Bates
  • BMO Bank of Montreal — Jay Walter, Greg Vriend
  • Pacesetter Marketing — Nick Askew

2013 award recipients

Award of Excellence

 Given in recognition of a light industrial building at 1515 Barrow Street, to:

  • PC Urban (Barrow Street) LP
  • Christopher Bozyk Architects Ltd. — Christopher Bozyk, Architect AIBC; Nick Bray, RIBA; and Sinead Hugh
  • PMG Landscape Architects Ltd. — Pat Campbell BCSLA and Marlene Messer BCSLA​
  • Ventana Construction Corporation — James Kendall, John Godler and Jeff Scholdice
  • Theme West Studios — Gerry Houghton, Artist

Honourable Mention

Given in recognition of "Cove Gardens" townhouse development at 4310 Gallant Avenue, to:

  • Milori Homes
  • GBL Architects — Stuart Lyon, MAIBC, Architect of Record
  • Senga Landscape Architecture — Senga Lindsay, BCSLA - Landscape Architect
  • Nomad Creative — Bruno Madson, Artist

2012 award recipients

Award of Excellence

  • Legacy Townhomes — 897 Premier Street
  • Brody Development (Homes) Ltd. — Mike Brody, Principal
  • Integra Architecture Inc. — Duane Siegrist, AIBC, Architect of Record
  • Forma Design Inc. — Bill Harrison, BCSLA and Ron Smith, BCSLA, Landscape Architects

2011 award recipients

Award of Excellence

Given in recognition of "The Brook" condominium development at 650 Evergreen Place, to:

  •  The Brook Development Group
  •  Array Architecture — Gerard Sportack, MAIBC, Architect of Record
  • Gair Williamson Architect — Gair Williamson, MAIBC, Consulting Architect
  • Senga Landscape Architecture — Senga Lindsay, BCSLA, Principal
  • Fast + Epp Structural Engineers — Paul Fast, P. Eng, Principal
  • P Warwick Construction — Paul Warwick, Principal

2010 award recipients

Award of Excellence

Given in recognition of "Vicinity" condominium development at 3025 Baird Road, to:

  • Brody Development — Michael Brody, Principal
  • Graham F. Crockart Architect Inc. — Graham Crockart, AIBC
  • Integra Architecture Inc. — Duane Siegrist, AIBC
  • Forma Design Inc. — William Harrison and Avril Woodend, Landscape Architects

Award of Excellence

Given in recognition of "The Bridge" townhomes at 1165 Harold Road, to:

  • Delta G Developments — Irene Rayner, Daryl Rayner, Sharon Rayner, Deen Rayner
  • Matthew T. Hansen Architect — Matthew Hansen, AIBC
  • Forma Design Inc.— William Harrison and Avril Woodend, Landscape Architects
  • Blue Pacific Development Corp. — Bob Gamel, Eric More and Steve Game

Was this page helpful?

Thanks for your input.